Butthole Parenting.

So Ive heard it said that opinions are like buttholes… everyone has one.  I find that to be untrue.  It seems these days people have multiple opinions on certain subjects… and I’ve yet to meet someone with multiple buttholes.

The subject I am referring to is Parenting. I think its crazy how many different schools of thought there are regarding raising your children… and most of them with pretty decent research to back them up.  It can be very confusing for a first time mom.  

I should preference this by reminding you that Jimmy and I were married for 10 years before we brought our bundle of joy into the world.  Thats alot of time to prepare and make parenting decisions before we even had kids.  We started reading parenting books and “interviewing” friends many years before we became pregnant.  We went into parenting pretty prepared and with an good idea of how we wanted to do things…

Some ideas have changed since Max has been here, some of them remain the same… some people agree with our school of thought, some dont… and what I’ve learned is… thats ok.  

I’m big on education… I feel you should educate yourself before making a decision, especially when it comes to your children… but if you decided to do things differently- shouldn’t that be ok.  Shouldn’t we support eachother rather than constantly tear at eachothers parenting decisions.  

We dont vax, we dont circ, we cloth diaper, we “naturally” parent, Max is on donor milk because I couldn’t breast feed but still am a HUGE breastfeeding advocate… but if you use disposable diapers, vax, cir and use formula…. cant we still be friends… Cant our kids still play together and no judgement be passed between us.  

Im speaking this to myself as much as I am speaking this to other mothers.  Its hard when you feel so convicted about certain things to not judge others when they do the opposite.  I’ve been called a hippie… Ive even been told that I’m irresponsible for not vaxing and circumcising… but I have research to back up my decisions and peace of mind in making them.  If you can live with our decisions, I can live with mine… Now can we move on and just love and support each other. Because lets face it… parenting is hard.  

So when I see you in the play yard, and you have sweet tea in your little one’s sippy cup… I will not pass judgement.  Because Im sure you did your research and are at peace with your decision… so dont pass judgement on my hippie children who smell like lavender and patchouli.  lol!

This post by an awesome blogger friend sums it up WAY better than I could have ever said.

 

http://www.offlabelparenting.blogspot.com/2013/12/why-i-breaking-up-with-attachment.html

About jellybeansundae

Im just a not so average 30-something experiencing life at a different angle.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

