A recipe for my friends…. Easy Chicken ‘n Dumplins.

Chicken ‘n Dumplins hold such a sentimental value for me- that in all honesty- it could taste like dirt and I would still love it.  Not a single holiday went by as I was a kid that mom didn’t make Chicken ‘n Dumplins.  Any special occasion- special guest- or very special request… we got Dumplins.  I still can’t eat them without at least pretending it is a special occasion.

Making Chicken ‘n Dumplins is quite a process… I don’t know if you’ve ever made them-  but when I do, my kitchen ends up covered in flour… and it is pretty much an all evening thing.  So trying to make Dumplins on a week night- no way… until my mom let me in on a little secret.   Enter FROZEN dumplings.

Yep… these make it so easy.  No making dough- scattering flour all over your kitchen, getting dough permanently stuck to your countertops, etc…  So here is my recipe.

2- 49 oz cans of Swanson low sodium chicken broth

6-8 boneless, skinless chicken thighs- you can sub breasts, but the thighs add alot of richness to the broth.

2 packages of Mary Hill (or any other brand) dumplings

Salt and pepper to taste

You ready…

Bring the broth to a boil in a large stock pot.  Add the chicken thighs.  Lightly salt and pepper the broth.  Boil until the chicken is cooked through.  Remove the chicken and let cool.  Add the dumplings.  The easiest way is to break the dumplings off into 3 sections.  You can put the entire dumpling in the pot if you like them long… but I like them a bit smaller.  Add a bit more salt and pepper to taste. Add the dumplings one at a time while the broth is still at a rolling boil.  DO NOT DUMP all of the dumplings in at once, they will stick together.  Dont worry about the excess flour from the dumplings- that is a good thing and will thicken up your broth.  Once the chicken is cool enough to handle- pull the chicken apart (shred the chicken).  I like to do this with my hands, but you can also put it in  your stand mixer with a paddle and it should do the trick… in this case you wouldn’t have to wait for the chicken to cool. Add the chicken to the dumpling mix and simmer on low for 20-30 minutes. Stir often!  You dont want those dumplins sticking to the bottom of your pot.  ALWAYS taste test it.  I like a little more pepper in my dumplins than most… test as you go and add to suit your taste.

And there ya go.  This makes enough for 4-6 people to have a pretty hearty serving.  Leftover are awesome too!  (my family likes cold dumplins  in the morning… but we sneak them as if it wasn’t aloud so don’t tell anyone).

ENJOY!!!

About jellybeansundae

Im just a not so average 30-something experiencing life at a different angle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

