A little DIY Decor help please…

So below is a picture of my mantle as it is right now.
Sad, I know.  I need some help.  I am usually very creative but there are a few areas in our home that truly have me stumped.  I have no CLUE how to mantlescape.  Any and all ideas would  be appreciated.  Keep in mind I do not want to go out and buy $200 worth of mantle decor… that is what I am trying to avoid.

And above is my kitchen.  This pic was taken right after we moved but it is pretty much the same as it is now. New coffee maker and the stuff in the window has been juggled around- but none of that matters.  I need to decorate above my cabinets.  I have NO clue what to put up there.  Now before you go suggesting things, please know that my style is NOT traditional.  I prefer clean lines, solid colors, no froo froo… So NO artificial plants etc.  Below is a pic of the curtains in the adjoining dinning room so you have an idea of the direction I was planning on going in.  Please… Help me!

I am close to being done with the house (well done for now- its never all the way done).  These are the biggest issues in the common areas.  Our master needs a total re-do… but we are getting there a little at a time.  (and I still haven’t decided if I am going to “decorate” the guest/art room since that will eventually be the nursery).  One step at a time.  As you are making suggestions and offering your help (please help me!)  I have posted some pictures below to give you an idea of the things I like.  I’m a vintage meets modern type of gal.  I LOVE pieces that have a story or history.  I don’t like knickknacks for the sake of having knickknacks- they need to mean something.  I grew up in a house that looked like you walked into Cracker Barrel… which is cool if you like that sort of thing- but I don’t… So NO country… and NO clutter!  I HATE dolls and “figurines”… cant stand the stuff!  Hope that helps… Oh- and if you’d like to come over and help me… I will make you dessert! 🙂

About jellybeansundae

Im just a not so average 30-something experiencing life at a different angle.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

