My World…

Ok… So to say that these children are “my world” may be a little heavy.  But it wouldn’t entirely be an exaggeration.  A little over a year ago Jimmy and I had a deep hole… A hole that  needed filling.  At that time Jimmy and I had not been serving in a church for a while.  Years ago Jimmy and I had attended a smaller church where we were both serving pretty  heavily.  We got to the point where we were burnt out and needed a break.  Other circumstances that occurred made us decide to look for a different church.  We chose a LARGE church… a VERY large church… where we could just blend in.  For us this was our time to be poured into… not do any pouring ourselves.  It was needed.  But there came a time when we were ready to get back involved.  We were not looking to leave our current church at the time, but were really getting the run around when it came to trying to plug in.  Then an opportunity fell into our lap.  Some of Jimmy’s old college buddies were involved with a new church plant and were telling us of a large need in their children’s ministry.  It was exactly the kind of opportunity that Jimmy and I were looking for.  We prayed about it and decided to pursue it.  Now I lead the 8:30 Volunteer E-kids service at Envision Church.  I love it.  It is just structured enough (that I don’t go crazy) but just unstructured enough that I have a great opportunity to build some awesome relationships with these kids.  This is the volunteer service- so the parents of the kids in my care are all volunteers.  Which means that I tend to have the same kids with only slight variation. I love that!  I see the same smiling faces every week (and an occasional addition).  I have 3-12 year olds.  And they are… My world!  These kids have done more for me that I would ever be able to do for them.  Through our battle with infertility, their smiling faces have grown to mean so much to me!  I couldn’t even bear the thought of not seeing them each and every week… (except for the weeks I’m on vacation… I’m ok with that :-))  As you can see… we have fun!  I love these kiddos!

About jellybeansundae

Im just a not so average 30-something experiencing life at a different angle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

