The most AMAZING experience.

So Tuesday afternoon I got a text from a dear friend reading “I have a proposal for you”.  This dear friend of mine is pregnant- about 32 weeks along and glowing.  Well call this friend “Bob”.  We all know this friend is a female, but I did not ask her permission to write about here- so we’ll just call her “Bob”- cause I think its funny.  Bob is one of those friends who I don’t really spend that much time with, but when we get together- it’s as if we were childhood friends who still “lunch” together every week.  When we first really clicked, I remember her giving me  a card and calling us “kindred spirits” which I think is so true.  There is just something about our relationship that is truly special.  She knows intuitively when I’ve had a bad day and knows the exact words to send to me in a text to make me feel better… Its crazy really.

ANYWAY, back to my story.  Bob knows that Im not much for talking on the phone, so she texted me and said we’d talk later that night- since we had the same plans that evening.  I was nervous to be honest.  “proposal”…. what on earth?  I was SO honored when she asked me to come with her and her family to her 4D ultrasound.  Honored and a little scared.

Jimmy and I have been trying to conceive for a little while now.  Not long by any measure- but longer than my patience can stand.  I do not harbor any ill feelings toward any of my pregnant friends, I am truly and honestly soooo happy for them.  I know how much I love them, so I know I will love their children just as much.  But I was concerned that I may be a little sad seeing this amazing miracle in my dear friends belly, and know that my belly is empty… except for the leftover chinese that I’d had for lunch.  But How on earth could I say no.  I’ve never seen an ultrasound of any kind done… and besides the fact that Bob means the world to me and I want to be there for her through anything… I also thought regardless… what an amazing thing to witness… So I said yes.

Boy am I glad I did.  No sadness came over me at all during the whole thing… just joy- complete joy.  I was in awe of what an amazing Creator we have.  I couldn’t help but think of how apparent Gods workmanship was.  I never understood how anyone could possible believe in evolution, or denounce the fact that there was a higher power whether you believe in my God or not.  But to look at a 32 week old baby… see its peach fuzz on its  head, its nostrils, its toes… that doesn’t just happen coincidently.  And don’t get me started on a pro-life rant… It would take a monster to hurt something so precious.  (referring to the doctors, not the mothers- I may not understand, but I do have compassion).

Bob’s baby was super active, barely settling down long enough for us to get a good look at its precious face.  It was all I could do to hold back tears.  I was one of the best 45 minutes I’ve spent in my entire life.  I have such an appreciation for life and the one who created us.  Its amazing…

Thank you Bob- for inviting me to be a part of something so incredible.  You are a true friend, and I love you and “Baby Bob”.

About jellybeansundae

Im just a not so average 30-something experiencing life at a different angle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The most AMAZING experience.

  1. Cici says:

    I bet I’ve read this post 20 times. I am also amazed at what an awesome creator we have. You have a beautiful way of describing something so extremely amazing.

Leave a Reply

