We are here… we are here…

Ok, So I’ve come to the realization that it really has been 6 months since I’ve updated this blog… unbelievable.  So all those aspirations to “keep up with my blog” are totally thrown out the window.  Sorry dear readers- to be honest- I forgot you were here.  But alas, I heard your faint cries of “we are here, we are here…” last night as 2 of my dear friends reminded me that my last post was made on the hubbs birthday… shame on me!

I guess that means I should give you a little update on the last 6 months of my life… here goes- brace yourselves.

On MOM- since I know alot of you keep up with my mother’s status by keeping up with me, we’ll address her first.  She is doing well… She has her good days and her bad days but overall she is progressing in the right direction.  She ended up back in the hospital shortly before Thanksgiving and spent a few days on life support while she was there.  Of course this was difficult for both Dad and I, more so for Dad… This time we had no family to surround us, and of course there was that “oh no, not again” disappointment after all the progress that she had made.  I began to view the situation and handle things with my “logic” (I’m part vulcan apparently)… which is of course how I handle things that are just too emotionally draining.  I looked at the situation, made my assessments… didn’t let my heart get involved… you know, I played doctor… Dont hate me- it’s just how I deal.  I did get emotionally involved… just not in the way you’d expect.  This trip to the hospital stirred up different emotions for both Dad and I.  The first time she was in the hospital on life support we were all scared, sad, confused… but not this time.  Of course we were scared, but we were more angry than anything.  I guess we knew the protocol and took for granted that she had made it through the first scare- so we (I should say I, I can only speak for myself) were sure she’d make it through this time.  We were angry because we felt alone.  Dad gets very little support from his side of the family.  This makes it very hard for him to deal with these situations.  I try to be there for him as much as possible, but there is only so much I can do as his “child”.  This in turn puts alot of stress on me.  If there is no one there for my Dad, I am all he has… I have no siblings, I’m it.  I live 2+ hours away and have a job and family and for me to be “everything” for my Dad during these times is very difficult.  Dont get me wrong… I’ll be there for him and make whatever sacrifice needs to be made- but its tough… on both of us.  Dad’s sister did make a trip up to spend time with him while Mom was in the hospital… we were both incredibly grateful for this.  Mom only spent about a week on the ventilator.  She came home the day before Thanksgiving and is now recovering well.  Continue to keep her in your prayers though, as she is NEVER out of the woods.  It wouldn’t take much to send her straight back to the hospital. 

On Jimmy and I- Well, we’ve been busy.  That could be an understatement… I remember saying in July- “we’ve been going non stop since the first week in May, maybe fall will give us a break”.  Well it didn’t.  We had plans pretty much every weekend from May 1st to January 1st.  CRAZY busy!  I started my own “creative” business in October which has kept me very occupied.  I started with designing and creating jewelry… but have now moved into creating and designing just about anything I feel like.  I did a few craft shows/expos which were more of a learning experience than anything.  I did well at a few… and not so well at a few.  I’m not going to give up on the whole craft expo thing, but I will keep in mind how much work goes into them before  I go signing up for a bunch of them this spring.  I’m still working on updating my online store… I havent added anything to it since before Christmas and I have alot to add.  My goal is to have everything up to date by March. 

On the baby front- I’m sure many of you will be super excited to hear that Jimmy and I have been trying to get pregnant.  It’s not as glamorous as it sounds folks.  I’ve found that it’s not quite as easy for me to get pregnant as it is for my more fertile friends who have 3+ children.  But honestly, I’m ok with that.  I know that timing is everything and when its right for us, we will get pregnant.  We just keep practicing and practicing… lol!  I’ll be honest, it does sting a little every time I find out that my friends are pregnant… especially those who “weren’t even trying” or “just started trying”… really people- could you be more fertile?  But Im always reminded that for just a bit longer than them- I will get full nights of sleep, and be able to go out without shelling out money on a babysitter or planning for hours just to get everyone in the car on time.  I wont have to arrange my schedule around nap times, feedings and whatever other kinds of schedules you must have with a newborn.  But when I do have to arrange my schedule and miss sleep for a baby- I will be thankful.  Until then- I’ll sleep in, and throw it in your face that I can and you can’t.  Dont take it personal… it just makes me feel a little better about the situation.

I guess that’s about it for the past 6 months… I know there is probably more but I can’t focus enough to remember.  I plan to do a 2010 recap so maybe that will encompass whatever I forgot… maybe. 

Live long and prosper my friends… 🙂

About jellybeansundae

Im just a not so average 30-something experiencing life at a different angle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

