Late night ramblings…

I figured I’d update my blog since I can’t seem to sleep right now.  Its only 1am… Jimmy took a third shift reset so I’m all alone tonight.  I’m not a fan of sleeping alone.  If I were younger I’d call up one of my girlfriends and have them come sleep in the bed with me, but now that I’m older, all my friends have husbands and families of their own.  Weird how all that stuff changes as we get older.  Gone are the days of calling everyone up last-minute to go out to dinner.  Now everyone has to arrange for a sitter, coordinate with their spouse, make sure they aren’t working late… When did life get so complicated. 

Which reminds me.  Jimmy’s 30th Birthday is Monday.  It’s hard to believe… not that 30 is old, but it’s just one of those numbers you never imagine actually getting to… then it kinda sneaks up on you.  Well be sure to wish him a Happy Birthday.  He is such a great guy.  I have no clue what to do for him for his Birthday.  He always treats me to something extra extra special for my Birthday, but he always seems to get so overlooked.  My fault, really.  I wish I could do something to show him how appreciative I am of him.  I can’t even begin to express how good this man is to me.  I don’t know how he puts up with me.  God bless him!!!

I spotted a card on our desk when I came home a few minutes ago (I’ve been babysitting).  It was from my grandmother to Jimmy for his Birthday… but it was one my mother made.  She loves to make cards, and she’s pretty darn good at it too.  Makes me wonder when she will be able to get back to crafting.  I spoke to Dad yesterday.  He said that Mom was doing great.  She is completely coherent, totally awake.  She doesn’t have much memory of the last month.  They are talking about moving her into a Long Term Acute Care facility.  Even as I type this, I’m just completely amazed.  Even at my most optimistic day, I really honestly did not think Mom was gonna make it.  She truly is just like her father. 

For those of you who havent heard… I will be putting school on hold for a while… probably a long while.  Things just aren’t working out in many different areas, and to be honest I’m not a fan of discussing it (which is why I’m posting it here, so don’t ask me about it again, OK?)  I really do want to graduate.  I was so good in school.  I was so ambitious in high school, and I know I am capable of soooo much more than I have accomplished.  So it’s a bit of an embarrassment to be where I am at 27.  I really thought I’d be alot more accomplished by now.  Its weird… I know a degree and a career doesn’t define you, it doesn’t make one person better than another, but for some reason I do feel like less of a person without one.  Maybe its just the fact that I quit… Or who knows.  I try to imagine my life in 10 years to get a better picture of where I should be headed… and its all fuzzy.  Sometimes I just feel a bit lost.  But then again, I have a wonderful marriage, and the most amazing friends… just need to relax and enjoy it all and stop worrying about the future I guess. (If you know how to do that… let me know). 

The month of June has been a bit of a bummer… I will be glad to see it go.  Hopefully July will bring good things, like speedy recovery for Mom, lots of summer fun, and nothing but good news in all areas. 

Well I think that’s it for now… the later it gets the more negative I get… Dont worry about me, really… I’m fine.  I can hear it now- my phone will light up tomorrow with multiple texts from all you reading this: “are you Ok” “thinking of you” “hope your having a good day”.  Admit it, you were thinking of sending one too.  Really, we are all entitled to a bad day every once in a while.  Remember that- next time your waitress, cashier, nurse or co-worker snaps at you.  Give them a break… you have bad days, let them have theirs (and still tip well, ok).

Good night, sleep tight yall!

About jellybeansundae

Im just a not so average 30-something experiencing life at a different angle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Late night ramblings…

  1. Tye says:

    Dear Danielle,

    I just want you to know that I’m very proud of you. It has been a rough month or so for you and your family and I recognize that. You are correct, everyone has a bad day now and then. I also just want to encourage you. I’ll turn 26 this November and will finally be graduating from NGU this December. So…DON’T FEEL BAD. (= I HAD to take two years off from school and take care of the other pressing tasks at hand. I just hope that I don’t hear, “It’s about time, Tye!” as I walk across the stage to receive my degree. I know how ambitious you are and you don’t have to prove it to anyone.

    I’m thrilled at your mother’s progress! Praise the Lord for His goodness and mercy! I will continue to pray over all of you and her recovery. It’s been a while since I’ve seen her. And don’t worry, I won’t flood you with text messages. (= Thank you for keeping everyone posted and I love you guys very much.

    Take care,

    Tye

Leave a Reply

