Update on Mom

Well, I’m sorry its been so long since I’ve posted an update.  Everything is starting to catch up with me.  Sunday marked 2 full weeks that Mom was in the hospital.  She started coming off of sedation on Wednesday.  She began opening her eyes and looking around periodically.  Jimmy and I stayed at the hospital Saturday and Sunday.  When we arrived Saturday I went in the room to see her.  She opened her eyes and looked at me.  I told her I loved her and she tried to move her mouth as if to say I love you too.  At that moment I cried.  Both happy tears and sad tears.  Happy tears because it is soo good to see my mothers eyes and her be awake, especially after a week of thinking she wasnt going to ever open her eyes again.  But also sad tears, because now that she is awake, you can see that she is hurting, scared and confused.  It almost makes it easier to deal with her being fully sedated than awake.  I hate to see her hurt.  She was completely off the ventilator, and only on 40% O2.  They moved her from ICU to PCU around 3pm Saturday.  Saturday evening I sat and talked to her for about an hour.  She would nod her head when I asked her if she understood me and answer some questions.  I bought Dad a Fathers Day card to give him from Mom.  I read it to Mom.  She started crying.  I asked her if she like the card and she nodded yes.  I explained a little about where she was, and what she had been through.  I told her how proud I was of her and how strong she had been.  I tried not to get too detailed because I didn’t want to scare her.  And for about twenty minutes I just repeated to her over and over how much I loved her and how well she was doing.  I tried not to spend too much time in her room because it takes so much energy for her to be so responsive right now.  I know she needs her rest in order to grow stronger and stronger.  But its hard to sit in the waiting room knowing that she can open her eyes and see that there is no one by her bed side.  I assured her that we were there, in the waiting room and I would check on her periodically.  I told her that Dad had been there every day, and told her about all the family that came to see her.   I went through each and every family member and told her that they loved her and told her about everyone that was praying for her.  As far as she has come is nothing less than a miracle.  And I thank God for any additional time we have with her.  However, we are not out of the woods yet.  We still don’t know what happened to cause Mom to get to the point of having to be ventilated.  We don’t know much about the disease or even what it is… We don’t know what the next step in treatment is, or even how much longer she can go on the severely damaged lungs that she has.  At this point, I just pray that she is comfortable and able to get out of the hospital sometime soon… I pray that God continues to work miracles in Mom’s health, and cherish every second I have when I’m with her.

Thank you so much to those of you who have thought and prayed for Mom.  We are so appreciative of everyone’s kindness and generosity throughout this difficult time.

Keep praying!

About jellybeansundae

Im just a not so average 30-something experiencing life at a different angle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

