pray!

Well folks, I am writing you from the library at Emory hospital in Atlanta Georgia.  Mom was taken to the hospital on Sunday morning due to difficulty breathing.  She had been on oxygen, but even increasing her oxygen wasnt helping.  Dad took her to Emory Hospital in Johns Creek and they transported her here to Atlanta.  Later Sunday evening they admitted her to ICU.  They had here on a by-pap (an oxygen mask) and were giving her 100% oxygen, but she was still struggling to breath.  Dad called me Monday around 10:45 to let me know that they planned to put her on a ventilator and sedate her at 1:30 that afternoon and were going to do a bronchoscopy.  It takes me about 2 1/2 hours to get to Atlanta.  I immediately dropped everything I was doing at work and came straight here.  I did get to see her before they sedated her.  I told her that I loved her and that everything was going to be ok.  I told here that all her family loved her and would be praying for her.  I was thankful to see her sedated and on a ventilator since she seemed to be drowning in the air with just the by-pap on.  They intibated her and performed the bronchoscopy.  Right now we are just waiting on results.  I had no idea how serious the situation was until I spent the night with her Monday night and was able to talk to the nurse.  I will spare you most of the details.  Mom has a form of interstitial lung disease which has advanced very rapidly.  Her lungs are fibrotic and not in good condition at all.  She has responded slightly to steroids, which at this time are our biggest hope.  Please continue to pray for her.  There is a long road ahead of all of us.  Both of Mom’s sisters, her mother, aunt and of course Jimmy and I are with her right now.  Her baby brother will be joining us later this afternoon as well as Mom’s cousin.  We are just praying and believing that she will experience a miraculous healing.  I don’t know what its like to face your own mortality,  but facing someone else’s, some one you love dearly, is hard.  This is something I didn’t expect to have to deal with for years and years on down the road.  Last night the ICU ward cleared out, and not  because the patents were admitted to regular rooms or got to go home.  It broke my heart to see these families deal with the loss of a son, husband, father and friend.  But it reminded me how precious my mother is.  I pray you all remember how precious your loved ones are and don’t take them for granted as I have.  Call them, tell them you love them, and do it often!  I know mom is a fighter, she is just like her father who beat the odds time after time after time.  I have faith that God’s hand is in this situation.  I pray that you do too.

About jellybeansundae

Im just a not so average 30-something experiencing life at a different angle.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to pray!

  1. Tye Carey says:

    Danielle, I have not been on Facebook in a while, so I had no idea that you and your family are going through such a difficult time. I am most certainly praying over you and your mom. In fact, I’ve already sent an email to my pastor to be praying over the whole situation. I’m glad that we are children of The Divine Healer and Miracle Worker. So many prayers are being sent forth on your behalf. Love you guys…

    Rest in Psalm 91…I frequently keep my Bible open to this Scripture in my bed to help me fall asleep.

Leave a Reply

